Firefly Support Forum
September 06, 2010, 03:30:24 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Barclays scam doing the rounds again.  (Read 2055 times)
Posh Geordie
Should Get an Off-Line Life
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1086



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2006, 04:27:24 pm »

Heads up on another Barclays phishing scam, which appears to have the involvement of a Korean site.

The URL is almost the same as the actual Barclays members login, so be aware folks.
Logged

My Favourite Art Website:

Dawn Bothwell
Posh Geordie
Should Get an Off-Line Life
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1086



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2006, 08:17:46 am »

Thanks for that Beeeeeees - as ever a responsible gerlie!

Seriously though, I too have had on in the last couple of weeks, and it's frightening how completely real the page is with all the usual titles, symbols etc etc all correct.
The clue is in the URL which was something along the lines of WWW.barclays.com, rather than WWW.ibank.barclays.com.

In future I'll try to post such warnings myself and be a responsible chap!
Logged

My Favourite Art Website:

Dawn Bothwell
Beeesneees
Guest
« on: November 09, 2006, 06:57:19 am »

Last night I got an e-mail through my Firefly account inviting me (telling me) to log on to a barclays website through the provided link and update my account details. Yeah, rigggggght! Like if they want me to fall for that it would be advantageous if I had any sort of an account with Barclays in the first place!

Unbelievably I don't get much in the way of spam, so if I've received this it's likely that others are too. Gotta say that ibefore my security features dumped it automatically in with the junk, changing it to plain text in the process it certainly looked the biz.

(Yes, I would have been a sensible gurl and if I did have a Barclays account and was for one minute wondering if it were genuine, I would have gone to their website to check this out rather than clicked on the provided link in the e-mail.)
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 9.221 seconds with 19 queries.